News

Jodo Shinshu Rituals Workshop

Posted on: February 20, 2021

Jodo Shinshu Rituals Workshop

Join Reverend Yoshimichi Ouchi on Sunday March 28th, 2021 at 7:00 pm to learn more about the how, why, when and where of Gassho and Oshoko. This is Part One of a three part workshop. For more information please see details below.

“JODO SHINSHU GONSHIKI” – “JODO SHINSHU RITUALS” with REVEREND YOSHIMICHI OUCHI

THE HOW, WHY, WHEN & WHERE OF:

GASSHO, OSHOKO
TRADITIONAL NAIJIN (ALTAR) ARRANGEMENT DEMYSTIFYING CHANTING SUTRAS AND GATHAS

PART 1: GASSHO, OSHOKO, SUNDAY MARCH 28, 2021 7pm EST, 6pm CST, 5pm MST, 4pm PST

Part 2: Obutsudan and Offerings – TBA Part 3: Chanting – TBA

Part 3—Chanting—TBA

Pre-registration is required. To register see registration link at the bottom.

A graduate of Gonshiki Shidosho in Kyoto, Rev.Ouchi received his licence of Tokubetsu Homuin in 2016 and is Canada’s only Ritual Specialist. Rev. Ouchi is currently head minister of the Toronto Buddhist Church.

Part 1—Gassho and Oshoko—March 28, 2021
7pm EST, 6pm CST, 5pm MST, 4pm PST

Do you know why we traditionally place our palms together (Gassho) when we bow or when we offer incense (Oshoko) to Amida Buddha? Why do we burn incense in front of the Buddha during the service? Rev. Ouchi will teach you how to do Gassho and Oshoko in Jodo Shinshu formal style. Q & A will follow the lecture.

Part 2—Obutsudan and Offerings—TBA

Do you know how to properly set up your home altar (Obusudan)? Do you know what types of offerings you should prepare? Rev. Ouchi will demonstrate how to set up the Obutsudan and will also explain what the Temple’s offerings mean in the teaching of the Buddha.

Q & A will follow the lecture.

Part 3—Chanting—TBA

Chanting a sutra or verses during the Buddhist service is the most important ritual in the service. You will learn why it is important to chant. Rev Ouchi will explain the meaning of chanting and how to chant.

Q & A will follow the lecture.

Presented by Jodo Shinshu Buddhist Temples of Canada’s Living Dharma Centre and the JSBTC Women’s Federation.

Register in advance by visiting:

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwkde6upjwqG9A-O62SsE-Fua56cG3lmTl4